Heywassuphello. Living Fearless.


First post! I can hardly contain my enthusiasm. Finally doing something you have always wanted to creates such a sense of release and freedom, and living without fear is something I am all about. This brings me to the question, “how would you dress if you were fearless. If you did not care about earning some sort of approval or recognition from others?” You may be thinking to yourself, “I don’t do that! I dress for ME.”  If that is true, then kudos to you my friend. What’s your secret?Because I know as much as I like to think I am dressing only to represent who I am, I let the world tell me how to dress, and even worse, I let it tell me who I am. Our identity should not and can not be found in the shifting sand of society. Because guess what? They lie guys. I am not even talking about when they pick us apart and call us ugly or fat, there is that, but there is also their persistent message that their approval is worth something. We cherish the parts of us that they applaud. For me it is my thin frame. I love it. I struggle with idolizing it. Let me tell you something right now;  even the “queens”, the Beyonces and Jennifer Lawrences, the ones that we think “if I could just be her” about, go home and cry.  Because what society says about you is not what fills you up and makes you whole or makes life worth living. We currently live in a time where everything is being celebrated or accepted, but I want to issue a warning. Just because your body type is no longer sneered at and your fashion choices are described as bold rather than weird,   do not let what society says be what determines your worth. The world is a fickle and hollow place. What it says about you and to you is meaningless. Their approval means nothing. I encourage you all to write this on a post-it and stick it on your mirror, “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” (Psalm 139:13-14 NIV) As you renew your mind with the unwavering truth that you are fearfully and wonderfully made  ask yourself, how will you dress as you choose to live without fear? I know for me fashion just got a lot more fun. 

lots of love,

Candace Cathrine

Leave a Reply

