The lost art of dressing up.

Whit Dress, No Shoes

The 50s were classy. The men wore suits eveywhere, and the women swished around in full skirts without a hair out of place. I’m sure some of the mindfulness of appearances came from facades and vanity, but you can not help but look at the pictures and movies from that day and see the dignity that each person carried themselves with. Everybody dressed like a somebody. Why don’t we do that? Why don’t we dress up? Do we think we are worth the time and effort? Now, please don’t misinterpret what I am saying. I love my sweats, and I have a soft spot for grungy apparel. However, I have noticed sometimes I feel weird when I am getting dressed up. Thoughts like, “who do you think you are,” or, “you look like you are trying too hard,” come to mind, and so I change. I long to look pulled together, but I am also terrified of it. I’m weird, I know, but I am pretty sure I am not the only one who fears that if I put effort into my appearance someone will tell me I am not worth it. It is so easy to roll around in slob land. It is where I happily reside, a lot. If I just wear a t-shirt and shorts no one can whisper the dreaded words, “who does she think she is?” Well let me tell you, putting on a dress, highheels, or lipstick does not make you conceited or a priss. Dressing up says, “I am beautiful, strong, dignified, and I respect myself. Nice to meet you.”  The point I am trying to make isn’t DRESS UP ALL THE TIME NO MORE JEANS, but rather, if you don’t like to dress pretty because you don’t think you’re worth it…you so are.

lots of love,

Candace Cathrine

Leave a Reply

