It’s More than Black and White.

Hey guys,

This week I made a huge discovery. I can wear colors other than black and white and still feel and look like myself.  Is anyone else in that weird stage of life?Like everyone else you grew up with did just that….grew up, but you still look the same as the day you were born? I know looking young is not a bad thing, and I am in no hurry to grow up, but I would like to look like a capable and confident adult because that is what I am. To help foster a more mature look, I have in recent years stuck to mostly neutrals and used color as an accessory, not the main sha-bang.


IMG_5556

I really do love the way they look, and I feel comfortable wearing them. While those are both fantastic reasons to wear something, I have started to feel a little blah. Lacking pizzazz. So I challenged myself to start looking for pieces and colors that are out of my usual comfort zone, and you know something? It has been fun! Here are 3 things I have learned.
1. A haircut can do more than you ever thought possible:

Whether you are looking to keep things serious because of your work, or your age, rather than sticking to “mature” and “somber” colors try a more mature haircut. Short hair (or shorter hair) can be a great option, but even adding more layers to your long hair can help it look more polished and sophisticated.

2. Color does not have to mean bright:

I think I cringed at color before because I had visions of me in a bright yellow jumpsuit. Which, while hilarious, is not a look I am looking for. Depending on your skintone, check out pastels or deep hues if color makes you nervous. It is a way to stick your toe in the color pool and see what you think, rather than diving in head first. Colors like ox blood, plum, and rasberry have all been popping up in my wardrobe. I love them. I am able to wear a whole rasberry dress, and not feel like I am blinding the world.

3.Color is an oportunity:

Look at color as a chance to have some fun. You already have to wake up early and get dressed and go to work, and have a day filled with a lot of things that just not much fun.Your clothes don’t have to reflect that. Use color as a way putting out a ray of sunshine. I hate how in the winter colors tend to disappear. You do not have to blend in with our surroundings. Just because the world is turning an icey grey, does not mean you do. Keep being your bright a cheerful self. Add a touch of warmth to a cold day.

Maybe you rock ROYGBV, but for those minimalistic, classic loving, black wearing girls like me, wearing color does not have to mean lessening your classiness. It can enhance it.

“I believe in pink. I believe that laughing is the best calorie burner. I believe in kissing, kissing a lot. I believe in being strong when everything seems to be going wrong. I believe that happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day and I believe in miracles.” – Audrey Hepburn

lots of love,

Candace Cathrine

Leave a Reply

