To Introverts…

It’s that wonderful old-fashioned idea that others come first and you come second. This was the whole ethic by which I was brought up. Others matter more than you do, so don’t fuss, dear; get on with it.
-Audrey Hepburn

Recently, I have been thinking about the phrase, “Lord, give us your eyes.” This is something that’s said in many prayers all across the south. I have always thought of this as learning to look past people’s rudeness or issues and see their broken heart in need of Jesus instead. I certainly believe that is what Christ did, and what He calls us to as well. It just hit me though.If I am really looking at people through Christ’s eyes, I have absolutely no room for fear. If I see them as someone who has more hurts in their heart then they would ever be let known, someone who desperately wants some place to belong, who is in need of hope and encouragement, how could I ever be afraid to talk to them? How could I ever rely on my introvertedness rather than Christ? Like they may be in the fight of their life, and I have an opportunity to smile at them, and possibly let them know that they matter, or at the very least that I see them. How can I let my shyness and insecurities get in the way of such an important mission? But I do. All the time. I assume that they wouldn’t want to talk to me, or that I will come across as a big weirdo creep if I dare to be outgoing. Well, something I gotta keep telling myself is, “so freakin what?” My job is not to make myself feel comfortable, or to boost my reputation. My job is to love others in the name of, and for the glory of Christ.

God is really wrestling my crutches away from me, and this is a big one for me. I know once I am no longer relying on my… inadvertence to people, I will be able to go through life with so much more freedom. I pray that I’ll be able to take the advice of Ms.Hepburn and just get on with putting others wholly first.

lots of love,

Candace Cathrine

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

