Adding to the Noise

To anyone with an opinion:

I have been reluctant to post anything these past few weeks because I wanted to be dang sure that what I was saying was both loving and true, and not just me spewing my opinions. I finally decided to go all early 2000’s on y’all and titled this post after  Switchfoot’s song, “Adding to the Noise”. The lyrics, “if you’re adding to the noise, turn off this song” have been daily going through my head over the past few weeks. The world is encountering tragedy after tragedy, and we have all been impacted by them in one way or another.  Many, many people are in a state of absolute anguish, lots are angry,and almost everybody is voicing their thoughts on one social media platform or another. There seems to be a deafening roar of noise. I have been impressed by many people’s actions and words of wisdom, from Chick-fil-a providing free food to those that donated blood for the victims of the Orlando shooting, to TIME literally having an article called, “How to Help the Victims of the Nice Attack.” These are responses that encourage me. I want to encourage everyone, particularly Christians, to take a stand during this time. Not an exclusively or explicitly political one either. Because it is in these gut wrenching and numbing times Christians should be weeping with those who are weeping, praying, and proclaiming our Savior. After all, He is a Savior acquainted with grief and sorrow. He understands pain and loss in ways we never could.  He alone can provide lasting comfort, heal what is irredeemable, and change the hearts of kings. He alone is the solution to a world that is ripping itself apart at a rapid pace. He alone opens blind eyes, and turns foolish hearts. I know God can use politics, and I know Christians should stand for what is right in every area, but I think we could all use a reminder that our allegiance is first and foremost to Christ, not our country . I think we could all use a reminder that we should be more concerned about these precious people’s eternal souls (that means the people that are fighting to use a different bathroom) than we should be about our safety. I think we could all use a reminder that we do not know how it is to walk in somebody else’s shoes, so we should error on the side of grace and understanding instead of spewing facts and who we’re voting for. Let’s get rid of this us vs. them mentality,and shift to us for them. Because our fight is not with flesh and blood, but with principalities of the darkness. Let’s use these soul shaking, world crashing times to stand up and proclaim truth and act in love like our Savior.Let our words not be like noisy gongs clanging without love, but pinnacles of hope. Remember, John 16:33, ” I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. In this world you will have trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.”

 

lots of love,

Candace Cathrine

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

