Neon, Not Just for the 80’s

Hey you!

Today is the second day of the 21 Day Makeup Challenge I have decided to try my hand at. Today’s theme is neon. Neon generally conjures up visions of the 80’s for me, rather than my beloved 50’s or 60’s. However, it does not have to be that way! Here, Audrey looks timeless in a neon green suit (seriously, how??).
neonaudrey
We can see here what keeps Audrey looking classic in such a potentially dating color are the classic lines, the high quality fabics, and the simplicity of her accessories. I tried to translate these principals into makeup. While I used bright colors I stuck with a classic winged eyeliner, stayed away from “cheaper” finishes like glitter or metallic looks, and just generally kept things simple.

There are 3 basic components to this look. I used white eyeliner rather than black for my winged liner, a bright pink lip (which isn’t showing up quite as neon as it truly is) over my favorite lip plumper, and bright pink blush. It did not take long at all, so its a quick and easy way to have a look that packs a lot of punch.

I hope you guys have fun creating your own neon looks!

lots of love,

Candace Cathrine

Leave a Reply

